Signs of Spring.

5 Apr

I really do believe it might have finally arrived …. spring that is ! I’ve been busy cooking and eating all day today and finally at 6.30 managed a quick zip round the garden – quick because my garden really is quite small !

And the signs are everywhere ! We’ve been away for almost a week – in snowy, windy, cold Italy- and clearly it’s been quite mild here as everything seems to have sprung.

IMG_1331.JPG

My ‘Devon bank’ is the main burst of colour in the garden. I had planned to have it full of primroses and over the years I’ve planted dozens, transplanted from my mother’s Devon garden where they self seed like weeds. However the only one still growing is this one below that’s growing in a crack in the steps ! I think the problem is that they get swamped in the summer by the other perennials that pop up.

IMG_1319.JPG

It’s lovely to see plump buds on the camellia about to burst.

IMG_1320.JPG

Much of my planting relies on self seeders so it’s always reassuring to see plants like Anthriscus sylvestris Ravenswing have spread them selves liberally. Although there do seem to be a few plain green specimens I’ll have to weed out.

IMG_1330.JPG

Last autumn I planted a couple of dozen white camassia which have now burst into life – strong variegated foliage, which I wasn’t expecting, so very excited for them to flower.

IMG_1329.JPG

My philadelphus Aureus is pushing out bright lime leaves ahead of the gorgeously fragrant white flowers in early summer. I adore the colour of this shrub but do sometimes struggle to pair it with other colours as it’s so strong. So I’ve decided to go all out for the clash and have now under planted it with a hot pink bergenia that’s just about to flower – can’t wait to see it !

IMG_1327.JPG

IMG_1328.JPG

The lupins have survived the slugs

IMG_1326.JPG

The Amelanchier is ready to flower any day now.

IMG_1325.JPG

The willow is in leaf already and looks wonderful with the evening sun streaming through it.

IMG_1324.JPG

My Rosa mutabilis is covered in delicate green/red foliage.

IMG_1321.JPG

And one of my auricula is looking beautiful !

IMG_1318.JPG

Apologies if I’m tempting fate and we end up having a month of heavy rain and snow but let’s hope not !

4 Responses to “Signs of Spring.”

  1. Pauline@cloverhome April 9, 2015 at 9:45 pm #

    Don’t you just love the first signs of spring! Can’t wait to see your Camelia!
    PS I have nominated three of my favourite bloggers for a Liebster award – details on my blog. I’d love it if you would join in!

    • Emma Webber April 11, 2015 at 6:56 pm #

      Hi Pauline – thank you so much for this !!! I’m really chuffed and not sure what I’ve done to deserve it ! But really appreciate all the love I get from the Netherlands !!!

    • Emma Webber April 11, 2015 at 7:18 pm #

      I’m off for a couple days next week so shall endeavour to answer all your lovely questions then !

      • Pauline@cloverhome April 13, 2015 at 9:49 pm #

        Thanks for joining in Emma! I’m looking forward to your answers.

Leave a Reply

Heaven Scent Gardens

garden inspiration & design

Garlic & Sapphire

beautiful and productive gardens & kitchens in action, from the Sarah Raven team

Wild Honey Blog

garden inspiration & design

Plantsmans Blog

garden inspiration & design

purple podded peas

garden inspiration & design

Lobster and Swan

garden inspiration & design

GARDENISTA

garden inspiration & design

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Decorator's Notebook

Decorating ideas and lifestyle inspiration from Decorator's Notebook

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

