Autumn Tidy Up

3 Nov

I’ve been enjoying the nice weather over the last couple of weekends and have managed to spend a couple of mornings down at the ‘Lottie’ !!

We’ve had enough rain for the soil to be diggable and most of my annual flowers have gone over so it was time to start the autumn clear up.

IMG_0947.JPG

I always find this sort of clear up very satisfying – once I’ve started. And it never really takes as long as you think it’s going to.

IMG_0949.JPG

The dahlias are still clinging on – the flowers are now half the size that they were, but they’re still trying their best!

IMG_0948.JPG

So I’ve now cleared 3 out of 4 beds – just the dahlia one left. I’ve cut down my autumn raspberries too. A couple more visits and I should be done.

Meanwhile Katie at Lavender and Leeks is keeping me inspired with her beautiful allotment. One day, in my dreams, mine will look as good as that !!

IMG_0950.JPG

2 Responses to “Autumn Tidy Up”

  1. Katie November 3, 2014 at 8:15 pm #

    I’ve just stumbled across your beautiful blog and just wanted to say hello (and thank you so much for the lovely comment about my allotment) You’re plot is just gorgeous, it looks like you managed to grow lots of lovely flowers this year and I am completely inspired. I’m hoping to grow more cut flowers next year 🙂

    Regards, Katie (lavender and leeks!)

    • Emma Webber November 4, 2014 at 5:27 pm #

      Thanks Katie ! Your enthusiasm is catching ! I get a lot of pleasure from my allotment but it is quite often a millstone round my neck. I’ve had it now for over 15 years and it is still at the bottom of all the calls on my time – family, kids, work, community etc. I always say that my plot will be looking perfect once I’m widowed and retired then I can spend all day everyday there like all the old men !
      I do get the biggest pleasure from growing cut flowers – I have to have seasonal flowers in the house and I despair how you can buy lilies and chrysanthemums all year round.
      I dream of a little shed like yours – I have a practical but unattractive tool chest, but I do have a beautiful Gabriel Ash greenhouse at home where I can do much seed pottering!
      Keep inspiring me with your hard work please ! Emma x

Leave a Reply

Heaven Scent Gardens

garden inspiration & design

Garlic & Sapphire

beautiful and productive gardens & kitchens in action, from the Sarah Raven team

Wild Honey Blog

garden inspiration & design

Plantsmans Blog

garden inspiration & design

purple podded peas

garden inspiration & design

Lobster and Swan

garden inspiration & design

GARDENISTA

garden inspiration & design

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Decorator's Notebook

Decorating ideas and lifestyle inspiration from Decorator's Notebook

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

