The ideal house plant ??

12 May

House plants are not really my thing. Other than the odd geranium sheltering over the winter, I just don’t do them. I’m not sure why – a combination of not having many windowsills, never getting round to watering them so they die, and finding them strangely static.
However, regular posts on the blogs Remodelista & Gardenista have made me think again and I had an urge to give Sempervivums a go.

20140512-091807.jpg

I remember these plants – commonly known as house leeks here, and hens & chickens in the States ( no idea why !) growing on the slate roof of my grandmothers house and always marvelling at how they cling on to a sheer surface and survive with no soil. They also nestled into nooks in stone walls. Surely with these survival instincts, they’ll survive any amount of neglect from me !
According to tradition it was a sign of good luck if they took root on your roof.

20140512-092115.jpg

I love the cobwebs all over this one. I’ve struggled to discover what purpose these webs have, the best guess seems to be to provide shelter from strong sun and to reduce dehydration.

I’ve potted them into a shallow enamel pie dish and topped with gravel, and am hoping that they will thrive on neglect !

20140512-092552.jpg

One Response to “The ideal house plant ??”

  1. collision repair sacramento August 11, 2014 at 12:31 am #

    I’m curious to find out what blog system you happen to be
    utilizing? I’m experiencing some minor security issues with my latest blog and I would like to find something
    more safe. Do you have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

Heaven Scent Gardens

garden inspiration & design

Garlic & Sapphire

beautiful and productive gardens & kitchens in action, from the Sarah Raven team

Wild Honey Blog

garden inspiration & design

Plantsmans Blog

garden inspiration & design

purple podded peas

garden inspiration & design

Lobster and Swan

garden inspiration & design

GARDENISTA

garden inspiration & design

Lottie Land Girl

Living the 'Good Life' the Brown way!

Decorator's Notebook

Decorating ideas and lifestyle inspiration from Decorator's Notebook

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

